Help with Crossover

edited September 2015 in DIY
Hi!

How are y'all? I haven't been around much (real life...), though I think I shall be again once I build a set of Colin's SECA amps. But I have an issue which I hope someone can help with:

My 'speakers (Triangle Antal ESW) are very lovely things, yet I have heard they (and all Triangles of this vintage) are easily improved. The trick is to:
  1. Remove the varistors from the crossover boards (which make up a protective element re overload)
  2. Replace the ceramic encapsulated wire wound resistors with something better of equivalent values

As I'm rained off today, I thought I'd tackle number one. I just need to be absolutely sure I'm right before I proceed (I have little electrical knowledge).

Treble and midrange board.

Looking at the crossover board (mid & top), I think the varistor is the small tan coloured disc - am I right? (The ceramic resistors are clearly visible in this picture too).

The bass board, same varistor?

Close up (Bass board).

As an aside, I am pleasantly surprised at the quality of the manufacture, the boards are thick with loads of copper, the soldering and internal wiring is frankly excellent. It's good to see some air cored inductors on mid and top too, though I suspect they (like everything on the boards) is made to budget. I seem to remember that placing them on edge (90 deg) from the board would be good practice though I may be imagining that, and it could be fiddly. Maybe some nice polyprop capacitors (not silly expensive) will also be beneficial.

I think the quality is explained by the fact Triangle manufacture everything in house including drivers (the tweeter is a horn loaded titanium compression driver). The compromises by the fact these retailed at under a grand in the mid-late nineties.

Comments