Please introduce yourself

Comments

• Hello there my name is Pete [the Feet]

I came across the site whilst researching DACs on another site. I am a relative newbie to this digital malarkey having purchased my Dacmagic and Squeeze Duet in May 2009. I have been on the lookout for an upgrade to the current DAC but as yet haven't heard any other options.

I have undergone a few system changes in the last 18 months after years of relative stability system wise. the current set up consists of:

LP12 basic arm and Rega cartridge [Seldom used]

PC storage on laptop

DacMagic

Squeeze Duet

Denon DAB/AM/FM tuner [DAB is quite a let down]

Yamaha Cassette recorder

Yamaha DSP for weekly film

Naim NAC 52

Supercap

NAP 135's

Rega R5 speakers

I'm not sure whether to either upgrade the speakers first or the DAC whichever gives most bang for buck as they say. Having said that the majority of my listening these days is via Spotify as I'm enjoying listening to something a little less familiar than my own collection.

Here's wishing you every success in your new venture and I hope it takes off.

PS. Where was the show that was mentioned where the DACs were compared? A chap who I bought a NAP250 off has compared many Dacs and has so far remained with his Dacmagic as he finds it less fatiguing than some he tried and also good value for money.

• Was that the hallowe'en bake-off show at the Epping Marriott...?
    http://thelondonbakeoffshow.110mb.com/
  • Hello Pete, & welcome. We're all learning here, glad you could lend a hand. DACs are one of current fascinations here.
  • Welcome Pete and enjoy.
  • Yes, of course...welcome pete!
    Apologies for the lack of a warm handshake in my previous post!
    Ben
  • Hi Pete

Welcome!

I was one of those that ran the Digital Streaming room at the show.