Listening to ...

Comments

• Nice to see Elliot Smith upstream!

Absolutely loving this:

• Ian Shaw - Drawn To All Things

Interpretations of Joni Mitchell songs, just right for Sunday Brunch.
  • Gill Scott heron is doing it for me at the moment.
  • Always does it for me.

One of my all-time heroes, old Gil.
  • Hmm. What shall I follow that up with?

• Britten, violin concerto op.15
    super squeaky. Love it!
  • I'm not much of a classical music listener, but I do like a bit of old Ben (no, not that one!).
  • classical music makes up little of my musical store and I have little knowledge of it (as my technical terminology "super squeaky notes" probably reveals), but I find Britten accessible and enjoyable. I can even manage a bit of opera if it's his !! But just a bit! My boss and I have opposite problems with ballet and opera, I keep expecting opera singers to dance, and he keeps expecting ballerinas to sing! We've decided to stick to what we know!!

"a bit of old ben" hey? Indeed, he is the wrong side of 40 now, you know 
    ;)
  • I saw Peter Grimes at ENO years ago. It was absolutely magical.
  • George Crabbe is a fave poet of mine, so a good combo there!
    Britten and contemporary dance a good combo too. Saw a simply fabulous dance biography by the Richard Alston company of the poets Rimbaud and Verlaine set to Britten's Les Illuminations about 15 years ago. Hm, good stuff. Am reaching for my Les Illuminations right now as I think of it. !........
  • edited August 2014
    Sounds interesting, but I can't see Sylvester Stallone in a tutu :-D

I don't I know Les Illuminations. I'll have a look through my Britten and see.
  • Box scaggs
  • Or even Boz Scaggs bloody predictive tx
  • That's the chappie!
  • I seem to have been stuck in an old-stylee funk groove for a few days.

Not getting anywhere near @suzy6toes' Benjamin Britten.
  • Black Sabbath – Paranoid (Remastered)

Denitely not funk ;-)